Life is better now… how ’bout that.

Well, I really had a meltdown this past weekend.  It was a rough weekend.  My husband is stressed, his mom is stressed and hysterical and just neurotic as hell and it is causing a lot of well… stress.  His dad is doing OK, but still hospitalized. 

So I got over my misery about the camera lens I had to return, and I decided not to use my money to pay off my husband’s bill that he racked up on the credit card- because honestly, he’s charging more stuff today and just charged something else the other day, and I just don’t give a crap.  I don’t care how much credit card bills we’ve got, I’m not going to let my life become misery because of my husband’s debt.  Eventually we’ll crawl out of it – long enough to start piling the debt back up.  Why should I suffer because of something as invetiable as that.

Sunday was a pretty decent day.  We took the ponies out for a drive for about an hour or so.  It was cold, MISERABLE weather for a late April day when it’s supposed to be spring.  Considering that the last week it was around 80 and sunny all week, this week past has been around 60 and windy and then cloudy and rainy.  It didn’t rain on Saturday as predicted, so they could have horse showed, but none the less, as you know, they did not.  So Sunday we pleasure drove for an hour and it was nice.  It was only the mini’s second time out this year, but she’s 15 and knows her job.  She handled the donkey pretty well this year.  Last year it was really bad when the donkey came running, braying. LOL.  For a little mini, Dixie does outweigh me, and can outforce me if she wanted to.  All in all it was a nice, quiet ride, with a few cute gawkers driving by, slowing down to stare at the horses.  🙂  

There’s a trail system not far from us that allows horse drawn vehicles. I think we’ll have to get a membership to that and haul out there and go driving in the woods- that would be nice.

Also Sunday I went riding. Not once, but twice. Just legging up an old, solid broke show horse that’s been off for a year and is coming back now.  He’s a good boy and I very much enjoyed riding around on the buckle and just going around the arena.  He was much more sound today than the other day, too, so he’s improving.  Good old boy.

After that I took a lesson, which I haven’t done in weeks because I’m trying to save my money for a horse.  Lessons are costly – $45 each .. that’s almost $200 a month I can save for a horse, so I haven’t been lessoning as much – I figure I’ll make up for the lost riding time if I ever get a horse again.

Speaking of which, I am going to look at that black and white paint Wednesday – I think. I don’t think he got sold on Friday. It looks like from their website and a horse site I visit, that the girl who went out there ended up buying a younger, smaller horse, and not the paint.  So that could be a good sign.  Then again, maybe the paint was lame or crazy, so it might not be so good. Either way, I hope he’s still around on Wednesday for me to have a look at.

I am considering looking at that percheron appaloosa cross, too.  Even though I never liked appys, this horse really seems to be just right, so we’ll see.  The people haven’t gotten back to me about him yet, so I won’t hold my breath on it.

In the mean time, that’s pretty much it! Have a visit to my YouTuby site, and my photography blog too!

Thanks!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, Illinois, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

