Well, this is a crappy weekend.

I really was hoping to see my husband compete with the hackney today in the first horse show of the year, but now, weather permitting, that horse show won’t happen until May 15th.  Today’s show is a bust.  Not just because of the rain, but because of another issue, too.  Yesterday my husband’s elderly father had not 1 , but 2 heart attacks.  He’s in the hospital in stable condition and expected to stay at least through Monday, when a decision shall be made if he needs to have any kind of heart surgery.  He’s 78 and has been in deterioriating condition for the last few years.  So I guess we’ll see what happens there.

Hopefully the hackney will be able to be shown in May, if not, oh well.  Just another year where horse shows just keep passing by and I can’t get my husband to attend.  It’s BARELY raining out today, just a mist, really – nothing too bad.  It never downpoured like it was supposed to.  My husband even said he’s not going to the hospital today to visit his dad.  So there’s no reason why we can’t go show.

I’m more than a little obsessed with horses and horse showing, I guess mostly because it’s something I want to do so badly again.  I just don’t ride anymore at all and I really want to.  I think if I ever get a horse to show, I’ll leave my husband alone.  I should be able to use my jeep to pull the trailer to local shows, maybe… I dunno, my Jeep is getting pretty high in miles and is very old.  I’d hate to blow the motor and then have to sell the horse to get a new vehicle.  LOL.  Anyway, it’s just that the hackney is a show pony, pure and simple.  He wins everytime and has proven over and over and over again that he belongs in the showring no questions asked.  And my husband drives very well and has really learned to be a good driver.  Together they do well and they should show.  It’s just something they excel at.  While it’s something I fail at constantly, but still enjoy.

I’ll see what happens on May 15th, if they get to go to that show or not.  In the mean time, I hate just sitting around the horse bored out of my mind.  My trainer is letting me ride a horse at their barn that’s been off for almost a year, so I rode him the other day.  He’s coming back from lameness and he’s still a little stiff, but I was the first person to ride him in all this time.  He’ s a good horse, tried and true show horse and broke to death, and it’s really nice to be able to go over there and ride (free) on a long rein and just hack, not lesson and not spend money that I’m trying to save for a horse 🙂  I was supposed to go back Sunday and ride that horse, but now I’m thinking I”ll stop over today and do it.

I am looking forward to seeing that black and white paint horse on Wednesday, and maybe something good will come of that.

He’s really cute and all, so it would be nice if he’ll be the one to work out.  He’s just a touch more than I want to spend, but maybe they’ll negotiate.  Then again, the horse just came available this week, and there’s already presumably one person looking at him, so they probably won’t negotiate much.

I’ve been thinking about whether or not it’s worth it to drive the 4 hours out to the farm in the middle of Western Wisconsin to see the draft crosses.  There’s two currently listed available that really really catch my eye and are both in my price range-ish sort of, if there’s any playing room….  There is also another one that’s priced much higher than the other two and I’m not sure why, as he doesn’t have any different or outstanding qualities.  I like him too, so I don’t know, it could be worth up just to drive up there to see all of these horses…  I’m still debating.

There are these 2:

The black and white is my favorite, of course, mostly because I just really would prefer not to get a chestnut horse 🙂  He’s 6, 15.2 hands and just a quiet and nice percheron paint cross.  The other one is 7 and a Belgian Quarter Horse cross that is broke to ride and according to the ad, has done 3rd level dressage movements.  Very well broke, and despite his color, I would like to meet and greet him.

And then there’s this one, which like I said, is priced my higher.  He’s 9 I think and 16.2 hands, maybe he’s so much more money because he’s taller? I’m not sure.  He has about the same training as the black and white one, so I’m not sure why he’s so much more.

I did have someone email me about a Percheron Appaloosa cross gelding she wants to sell.  I posted an ad on Craigslist that I’m looking for a horse.  This horse really fits the bill for everything, except the Appaloosa part.  Sorry people, I have never liked (nor gotten along well with) Appaloosas.   But he does have the Percheron in him, so he might be worth a look.  He’s  a PMU baby.. aren’t all these draft crosses PMU’s… LOL.  That’s OK, I don’t mind that one bit.  This 11 year old horse has done long-distance endurance riding, he’s taught beginners to ride, and according to the owner has never been lame a day in his life since she got him as a weanling.  He really really sounds like a good horse and maybe I can set aside my Appaloosa dislike just enough to go take a look at him.  I posted the price range I’m looking in and she responded, so I have to assume that this horse is in my price range.  He’s also not far away, so it should be well worth the jaunt.

He’s not unattractive.  Maybe a little hard to keep clean, LOL.  But he’s not covered in spots all over, and the picture she sent of him being ridden, he’s bareback and has his head dropped down to the ground nicely, just walked around like a gentleman.   It sounds like he’s had a great deal of training from his 1 person owner, who sounds like she knows how to ride, and teaches lessons.  So this could be a good match, really.     I guess we’ll just see what happens.

I wish I had something to do today – like go look at a horse.

Well, I guess I’ll go make breakfast, maybe do some work on the dollhouse for a while this morning, and then probably go ride the rehab-horse and maybe swing by the barn to play with the ponies and do some rainy day pictures, maybe….

Ho hum… most boring weekend ever.  My husband is perfectly content to sit around the house for the entire day and never leave- not even go outside to let the dog out.  I personally hate sitting around.

Next week is the Kentucky Derby, too – don’t forget! Saturday May 1st.  And this weekend is the Rolex!!!!  Ohh… I wonder if that’s being broadcasted online live?… I think I’ll go see..

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Buckskin, draft horse, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Illinois, Jumpers, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

