Oh the wane and ebb….

I’m asking everyone’s opinion – literally- posting everywhere I can think of posting about this black quarter horse.  My trainer convinced me to at least go give the horse a second look before I truly come to a solid decision.  Base on what she saw in the video (which you can see for yourself on my YouTube channel), she at least thinks the horse is worth a second look if nothing else.  I guess she is right – I shouldn’t discard the horse so quickly. 

It’s not like he did anything wrong.  He just didn’t do anything very well either.  At least that other horse, while possibly the sweetest horse in the world, did things wrong – he stopped when he wanted to, he didn’t canter, he barely trotted.  He displayed that he wasn’t broke well enough for basic flat work.  This black QH, while less quiet and a little more fussy, at least knew his basic flat work, albeit not pretty.

All in all deep down in my guy – I do not feel this is the right horse for me.  And most people I’ve asked are saying the same thing – with my confidence issues – with my fear of owning another horse to ruin – I should not get something that’s such a green training issue.  Some people think he’ll be harder to train because he’s 11 years old.

I can’t help but think of Lickety Split, my precious sacred Lickety Split – he was around 12 or 13 ish when he was plucked from an idle life sitting in a field and tried to be made in to a school horse which didn’t work out.  He did, however, work out brilliantly for me and we went from bucking everyone off and tripping over his own feet to riding well, winning at shows, and jumping 3’6″.  But that was a different life, now 8 years ago, and a different horse.

This black horse isn’t Lickety.  He’s got the same head, though! LOL.  But he’s not Lickety.  Lickety was a challenge, and while he was very rusty and rank, I think he had some serious training on him when he was younger.  He really knew his job – he just chose not to do it at first.  But once he finally got going, and had a good 8 months or so of consistent riding, he loved his job and ended up being really good at it.

This black horse has no training at all, nothing formal anyway.  He just knows how to walk, trot, and canter and go on trails.  He’ll go through or over anything.  But he needs a ton of work, and given my history, I’m not really sure if I’m up to that task anymore.  Maybe 10 years ago or even a little less than that, I would have done it, but now I’m not so sure.

My husband says I’m trying too hard to make it happen, rather than just let it happen.  I think If I just let the tides be, I will lose riding from my life forever.  So I’m trying to find a good horse.  We found Luke for my husband, who just happened to end up being a great pony. I just can’t seem to find the same luck.

I did run across an ad, actually from the same people who never responded to me about that paint with the blue eyes I was interested in checking out several weeks ago. They have now got a really cute paint that is 14 years old just an all around good guy. He’s cute.  Maybe a touch small, but cute.  He’s a little more expensive, and supposedly someone wants to come see him Friday night.  I’m not sure if that’s the truth or some sale tactic to try to get me to come running out first.  I told the lady I’ll call her back on Saturday and see if the horse is still there – because I’m not playing that game.  I would have liked to see the horse tonight, but when I talked to her, she was busy and couldn’t.  I can’t do tomorrow, and then on Friday I said I could maybe come out but she said someone else is coming to see him Friday after school.  Hmm… well, maybe if it’s meant to be the horse will just still be there when I call her back Saturday.  If not, fine, but he is kind of cute, and I wouldn’t mind looking at him. 

Judging by the pictures, he looks a whole lot quieter than the black horse.  I really think I should just go with my gut on this and not get this black horse.  Mostly everyone I’ve talked to says the same thing.  What do you think?  I’d love your thoughts. 

Check out the video on my YouTube channel, and you can see my video about Spyder- the mare that destroyed what was left of my confidence.  It wasn’t just her, it was the accumulation of Tate, another horse I was riding named Rio, and then Spyder just iced the cake.  I also had problems with Riley and Frankie, two horses I was leasing – for Dressage.  Now neither of those horses had problems as severe as Tate, Spyder, and even Rio, and I don’t think I caused those issues with those 2 horses, but they unto themselves had issues.

Anyway, here are a couple pictures of the cute paint horse that may or may not be available after Friday.  Let me know what you think of this little cutie pie, too ?! I’m not sure I care for all the white, but that’s a very very minor thing 🙂

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Illinois, Jumpers, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

