The black horse

I do have the video up of my trial ride on the black quarter horse paint crosse from Sunday.  It’s on my youtube channel, just called black horse.  Feel free to look at it and the rest of my videos too.  I won’t leave that one in particular up very long – maybe a week or two,  but I think I’ve decided he’s not what I’m looking for.

I know I’m nuts – I go back and forth more that the ocean tide.  I think I’ve come to realize that I * DO * want to own a horse again (why else would I keep looking even when I say I won’t or shouldn’t).  I * DO * want to continue riding (that was never in question really).  I * DO * want to get out to do some small, open, fun shows (I’ve never been one to want to haul out for several day long shows – I enjoy local, fun shows – and they’re cheap and affordable). 

 I don’t want to jump into owning the wrong horse just to own a horse again.  And I do think this black horse, while being the right age, size, breed, gender, and price is still not quite the right one for me.  It’s maybe a little unfair to judge the horse without a proper trial, just based off one visit and knowing he hadn’t been ridden in 6 months and then was ridden 3 times that day, but he isn’t quite trained or broke to meet my needs.  He’s a trail/parade horse and a man’s horse to boot.  What if he decides he doesn’t like being an arena horse – after I’ve owned him for 6 months and spend hundreds of dollars in board, care, and lessons.  What if he figures out that I’m not as strong as a man and starts to take me places I don’t want to go?  I feel a little bad, because it is unfair to judge him so quickly after knowing he hasn’t had any consistency and maybe I will go back for a second look, who knows, but I guess mostly I just don’t really feel like he’s going to be the right horse for me in the long run.

Feel free to check out the video.  Let me know what you think.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Illinois, Jumpers, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

