Talk about sticking to your guns…

I do of course mean this in the most sarcastic way possible.  Do you recall ALL THOSE POSTS I did about how all the various factors in my life affecting my ability to own a horse – finances and confidence being the most major issues along with other points… all those posts about how I’m not going to even bother looking for a horse, not going to involve my trainer, just focus on getting my husband to show his hackney pony and focus on my riding lessons every few weeks…. ALL that stuff I said about how owning a horse isn’t for me, isn’t my life anymore, is not something I can ever have anymore………..

yea… 

well……….

no, I didn’t buy a horse – but I am going to look at one Sunday – WITH MY TRAINER ! LOL.  I said to myself I wasn’t even going to talk to her about this horse until AFTTER I saw/rode it.  I was trying to convice my husband to come with me to video tape it, but he was too uninterested and too busy telling me it’s pointless to go because I’m not going to buy it and I shouldn’t waste my time …  Well, I let me trainer know and she said she has time Sunday to come with me.  Awesome! I’m really glad about that.  It will be a much more pleasant experience with my trainer by my side rather than my griping, whining, bitching husband who just wants to take my money and use it for his truck and not give a crap about me, my needs, or my goals, and as long as he’s verbally beating every last bit of self confidence and determination I have out of me than he’s content and happy.  Oh.. wait, I did say I wasn’t going to bitch about my husband… right.

Anyway – this horse is amazing, perfect, the ONE.  Maybe.  LOL. It all sounds good on email and phone calls, but anything can happen upon seeing/riding.  Right as of now I would love to buy my “virtual horse”, but we’ll see what virtually happens when I tack him up and get on – in an open field- no fences – no arena.  Fun times. Can’t wait.   L OL.

Seriously, I can’t wait – I’ve been saying for 2 months that I would love a draft cross.  And I talked about the draft cross person way out, 4 hours from me that has like half a dozen at any given time I’d be interested in.  Well, out of sheer luck, I stumbled across an ad for a draft cross that caught my eye.  The ad says he’s only an hour away, 7 years old, 16.1 hands gelding, sound, trail experience, driving experience.  So my interest was immediately perked – so perked that I didn’t even bother with email, I called this owner right away.

He says he bred this horse and says he is 7 going on 8.  His dam was a paint that he owned and his sire is a belgian from another local town.  He knows the owner of the barn where I take lessons.  This horse has done a few trail rides each year, he’s done a little ground driving and some team driving actually hitched.  He was ridden by a kid who did various types of games and cattle work with the horse and so he’s been in an arena and knows how to walk, trot, and canter under saddle. 

Ok, so he’s a hair younger than I wanted, but I’m not too concerned about that.  He was last ridden a month ago and behaved just fine, so I’m not concerned about getting on him and trying to get a walk, trot, and canter out of him.  He’s the size I want, and certainly the breed.  He reminds me of Lickety Split – the same head -that belgian cross head – big and goofy but insanely adorable. 🙂   He’s perfect.  And while I had already decided he’s perfect before seeing what he looks like, the guy then sent me pictures of the horse.  HE’S FRIGGING BEAUTIFUL.

The major sna-fu here (other than what he actually turns out to be like when I ride him)….. he’s more money than I have.  I’ve asked my dad for a loan.  I doubt he’ll do it.  I don’t need much.  I’ve saved a lot more than I thought I would in only a few months, but I’m short by a few hundred dollars + board.  Also the horse doesn’t have a coggins since he hasn’t left the farm in a while, so I need to pay for that all to be done, too.  Anyway, I’m hoping on the horse god’s good graces that this horse is as perfect for me as I want him to be and that somehow I can manage to afford him.

Heck, I’m already thinking about a name for him.  Oh, this could be bad….

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Illinois, Jumpers, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

