Just another day..

I have been a really bad blogger lately. When I started this blog, I wanted to talk about horses, and maybe vent about my husband when he ticks me off.  Well, it’s been another week since I’ve posted anything, and don’t let yourself think my husband hasn’t ticked me off… he’s made me angry almost every day, (which is a very easy thing to do- I have a very short fuse, and my nickname is definitely bitch).  But I’m so sick of hearing myself gripe about my husband that I just don’t want to post anything about it.

I had a decent Easter. Decent.  I’m not a big family person, and I do not enjoy the company of people almost 0 years older than me that just gripe and moan about their aches, problems, and doctors visits and then criticize you when you don’t want to drool over their every word.  Every visit to the in-laws offers up some kind of criticism of me in some way – my weight, my stress level, how I don’t do this or that good enough.  I love being judged by my husband’s parents, as if I’m not judged enough by my own parents and my husband.

Seems the only one I’m not judged by, ironically, is a horse show judge- the one person I’d like to be able to be judged by! Because that would mean I’d have a horse to ride in a show, be it mine or not. It would be nice to compete in some open shows here and there.

Alas, I don’t foresee that happening, and if you’ve been reading along about my horse dilemmas, you know I can’t decide between the rock and the hard place with that whole situation.  Like I said, I don’t think I’m even going to look.  That doesn’t mean that if the right horse happens to come along, that I wouldn’t go take a look, but I’m not going to involve my trainer, and spend all day looking at horse ads and calling people left and right.  I’m pretty much done and lost on the idea that I’ll ever get a horse again.

My husband and his hackney pony were gearing up for some shows soon. The first one is planned for April 25th, but the weather has been a real factor.  They were going strong for 2 weeks, but now haven’t driven in a week due to heavy rains, hail, cold weather and now SNOW.  We don’t have an indoor to school in, so weather and dryness of the outdoor footing determines if we drive the ponies at all.  I was meaning to start the mini back into driving this week, but this week even the hackney isn’t going to be worked at all.  If they don’t get enough schooling in, or if the rain persists and soaks the ground too much, we are not going to the April 25th show, and will just wait until the bigger show in May to be the first event.  Which is fine.  They were about 80% ready for a show now, but this rain really puts a damper on everything, and I cannot have the pony pull the heavy cart and heavy driver through deep, wet sand just for a ribbon.  A blown tendon isn’t worth the effort at all for any show.  So that’s fine if they don’t go. There’s still 2 weeks, so hopefully the rain will stop sometime this year… LOL!

In the mean time, my photography has also been on standstill due to weather.  I was supposed to go out and do some practicing with a rare breed of draught horse stallion called a Suffolk Punch, but that got delayed due to weather and now I’m looking forward to doing that on Saturday. My picture (hopefully one will be good enough) of that horse will be used to promote the stallion on the MidWest Horse Fair’s website.  I can’t wait to see that!

I’ve also got a few pictures due to be printed in a magazine put out by a local equine rescue. I photographed 6 of their adoptable horses and I am looking forward to seeing my pictures used to help their cause.  They will be the first pictures I’ve had published, so I will be able to at least say I am a published photographer!

I’ve tried sending out inquiries to horse magazines about submitting pictures, but never heard back.  I will try again in a month or two.  Apparantly these magazines get hundreds (or thousands) of pictures and it just takes time to be discovered.  A picture I took 3 months ago could still be useful in a magazine a year from now.  Stock images are stock images after all.

I hope to progress and improve with photography and maybe make some money doing it someday.  In the mean time, I’ll be back in a few days to fill you all in on how the photography session went!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Illinois, Jumpers, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

