Working through the weekend

Well, this has for the most part been another productive weekend.  I am happy when I’m productive.  Unlike my husband who can sit for hours unending being idle and playing Left 4 Dead like it’s the greatest thing ever, most important thing in the world, and ignore every single thing that needs to be done (or that wants attention, like his wife..), I need to get things done if they’re needing to be done. I can play my fair share of Xbox live gaming, too, mind you, but I can’t sit all day like he does plopped on the sofa and doing nothing.  I like to be out, I like to be busy, I like to be at the barn.

I did a lot of work on the doll house this weekend, started hanging wall paper and getting moulding painted & stained.  The wiring is all done, windows are in, walls are back up, and basically, it’s really coming down to the final stretch.  Once the wall paper/moulding goes in, it’s then rigging the lighting and decorating.

It’s amazing how one trip to the hobby store can result in a $100 bill on the dollhouse.  So far, calculating out everything that’s been spent on refurbishing my 31 year old doll house built by my grandfather, I think we’re $800 deep, with probably a good $300-$400 more to go.  One expensive doll house, I think.!!!! 🙂  But well worth it.  Getting the ceiling paper up and seeing the layout for the doors and all really gave me a smile, I think it’s great, and I can’t wait to see it all lit up !

As far as horses go, I have really tremendously been slacking on doing photography, I’ve got to say.  I’ve got several offers from people to let me practice on their horses at their farms, in exchange for free images of their horses, and I really need to sit down and make those phone calls. Maybe I’ll get that done this week and set those things up.

Today was the last of February and the very first true taste of spring I think we had.  While it did flurry a little bit, it was 40 and fairly sunny this morning, so I went to the barn (without the hubby, of course) and played beauty day with the ponies (his ponies)… I clipped their bridle paths, muzzles, chins, and throatlatches, and basically pretty-fied them as best I can despite their winter coats.  Luke the hackney is shedding, Dixie the mini is not.  I think I’ll need to body clip her again this year.  She grows such a thick coat, it doesn’t shed.  One year she had lumps of winter hair straight up until June.  No, she’s not cushings.. She’s been tested.  She’s been thyriod tested too. She’s just a wooly mammoth mini horse. 🙂

Tricks! I think the ponies are doing well with their tricks.  Today I got Dixie to go down on both knees – a start towards laying her down.  She’s got the bow down 100%, but she learned that about 2 or 3 years ago I think.  Luke, who just started learning to bow a few weeks ago is a pro at it now!  I was so proud of him today!  Like I said, I don’t know if I am teaching it to him correctly, but he does what I ask, and he does bow, and now he’s pretty close to doing it as automatically as Dixie, and he’s staying in a bow for several seconds.  I got it on video, so I will have to get that up either this week or next weekend.

I am still casually looking at horses for sale, even though I don’t think I really will be buying one.  I barely have enough saved up to do 1 month of board at my trainer’s barn let alone buy a horse and vet it on top of that.  But I’m hopeful that in a few months I will be able to get a horse again and have something to ride, show, and just enjoy.

That’s about it for now, I guess!  Thanks for looking and visit me online at my websites showing to the right in the blogroll!!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Illinois, Jumpers, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

