A horse is a horse, but what is with owners?

I’ve just got to say, I’m on the mindset now where I know I’m going to be able to get a horse.  Even though that won’t be happening until around August or so, I am still looking.  I enjoy horse shopping, and I enjoy going out and trying horses and seeing what works and what doesn’t.  I’ve always enjoyed horse shopping.  I’ve just never had a blog to ramble on about it before!

It really amazes me some of the ads that people come up about their horses for sale and the prices they set these animals at.  Riders who’ve never worked with a quality show trainer before at all think they’re horses can do great at western, dressage, and jumping and want $5,000 for some barely trained 12 year old unregistered poorly conformed horse becuase it jumped the paddock fence. 

Fugly horse of the day blog often times lists some the worst ads I’ve ever seen, they’re really a hoot, but it makes you feel bad for the horses.  I love the stallion ads they post that are found on Craigslist from time to time – some long and gawky poorly “bread” stallion that usually has some kind of color and nothing else, against a barbed wire fence with rusted out cars and farm equipment in the back ground.  The best is when the advertised stallion has burrs in his mane and the halter is hanging off his face and he looks like he’s never been touched before, but because he’s a color producer, he’s worth some pathetic stud fee.  Whether it’s $200 or $2,000 I’ve never seen a Craigslist ad displaying a stallion worth breeding to.

Now, lots of times when looking through horse ads, most people are honest and trying their best, but just don’t know what to write about their horse, or what type of picture to use.  Some ads will read “lost my job” or something like that, and those could be worth a second look. It could be a nice horse, at a great price, from a good person in a bad situation just trying to sell the horse as quickly as possible, but at a high enough price to assure it doesn’t end up on a plate in France.

A lot of times, though, the ads are just ridiculous. Trainers putting up dark, blurry pictures of horses jumping that are just terrible, and hardly make the $12,000 asking price seem realistic.  For $12,000, can’t you get one decent picture?? Then skip it entirely if you can’t.

Sometimes, there’s no information about the horse at all!!  I ran across an ad the other day for a 10 year old TB and the entire ad spoke of the race history of the horse’s sire!  Not ONE word about what the horse actually does or why it’s worth $3,000.  Another ad for a 12 year old TB I came across said something about the owner not willing to sell the horse to be raced!!  Do people really not have a clue?  NO ONE buys and RACES some 12 year old horse!!! 

I came across one for a paint horse that since it breaks the fences it’s for sale…

I could go on an on and on and on about unbelievable horse ads.  What are some of the worst that you’ve ever seen?  And, even better – did you look at those horses or even buy one? 

I’d love to hear!

Please visit my other websites listed to the right on the blogroll!!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Dressage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A horse is a horse, but what is with owners?

  1. onehorsefarms says:

    You are preaching to the choir friend.

    A rich newbie horse owner at my boarding stable got CONNED into paying outrageous prices for six horses from a new horse breed (Georgian Grande? The Saddlebred – Friesan cross?). They weren’t just untrained, they were wild to the point of being uncatchable in the pasture and the conformation was horrifying! She then tried to sell two of them… for $12,000 and $8,000 each because that was the price she paid…

    WOW.

    • kshai1715 says:

      I never heard them called the Georgian Grande, but I’ve seen a few Friesian Saddlebred crosses, and all I can think is —WHY ??? They are NEVER well conformed. Well, I guess they are if you like giraffes. But to me, if you take 2 very upright horses and put them together, the result is NOT going to be pretty. Must be nice if you have that kind of money to spend on a handful of horses at once.

      • onehorsefarms says:

        LOL, I totally agree on the WHY?! for the Friesian Saddlebred cross, but I do understand that beauty is in the eye of the beholder… although for poor conformation it would be better if the owners just look at them versus actually ride. 😉

        I felt bad for the newbie owner to pay SO MUCH for her herd, but then again the seller probably bought a second house with the money from the transaction so good for them I guess! 😀

  2. Pingback: How about some discussion on Good Parents du Jour? – 1st Edition « OMG Horses

  3. Pingback: A little less talk and a lot more action! « OMG Horses

  4. Pingback: Crazy horses…do they exist? « OMG Horses

  5. Pingback: Obviously I’m … pooping? « OMG Horses

  6. Pingback: Funny how all you asshats wind up being found guilty, isn’t it? « OMG Horses

Leave a Reply

