Weight loss and horse goals!

Well, this is the 3rd day into my diet and watching what I eat.  A good breakfast, a slim fast for lunch, and maybe a little more than I should be eating for dinner, but not that bad.  I’m still having 1 bottle of raspberry iced tea a day, which is a major cut down from drinking them nearly non stop. I’m a raspberry ice tea-aholic.  I don’t drink alcohol, I don’t smoke, I don’t do drugs, but I sure do have my vices, and high fructose corn syrup with raspberry flavoring is definitely my biggest and worst vice.  So, I have no weight loss to report.  Well, OK , I’m down 1.4 pounds. Big whoop.  When I drop 10 I’ll be happy.

In the mean time, for some stupid reason I’ve started looking for a horse.  Now, I don’t have the money to buy one yet, and while I expect a tax refund, it’s not going to be big enough to buy a horse, of course!  But still, I’m looking.

I know where I ride, it’s a B & A circuit show barn, and the cheap horses in that barn are $10,000.  When I had my hanoverian mare, I said I paid “25” for her, and the trainer thought I meant $25,000.   It was $2,500 !!!  It was a great price for a very good horse, that I ended up having serious problems with.  I gave her to the barn for free as they were able to ride her without trouble and they sold her, which was a huge favor to me, as the mare was literally going to kill me.  See my video on YouTube about Spyder.  Go to my YouTube channel on the blog roll and look through my 8 videos for Spyder.

Anyway, so point being, I’m going to once again set out for the 2k horse.  My very very best show horse (also on You Tube) Lickety Split, I paid $2,000 for him.  He came from a pasture with lots of old training but no handling for years. He was rank, and would buck everyone off.  We went from that to jumping 3’6″ and winning all the time.  Luke (also on YouTube, LOL), is our Hackney pony I bought for my husband back in 2007.  They’ve shown quite a bit and have never lost.  That $600 little pony has been the ultimate show pony I’ve ever known. He brings home the blues and the trophies every single time out, period.

This year, I hope to get them to the national level of showing with the ADS, the American Driving Society (http://www.americandrivingsociety.org).  I think they may find themselves up for a challenge in those events, but we’ve got a fancy meadowbrook show cart, the right pony for the job, all my husband needs is a suit and he’s all set.

So, even though my upper level show hunter barn feels that all horses need to be $10,000 or more to be decent show horses, I know hands down for a fact that diamonds-in-the-rough exist for far far far less.  I’m not talking about a $100 slaughter find that turns out to be the next Grand Prix phenomenon, I’m just talking about finding an affordable horse that I can ride at small shows, do what I want with, and have fun with.  I know I can find that at my price range.

Thus, in searching for a horse, I came across an ad for a spotted draft 9 year old gelding 16.1 hands at a price that will be in my budget when I’m done saving. (I don’t have enough now, so I shouldn’t even be looking).  I called the owner anyway.  The horse has basically had no training.  She bought him 4 years ago, she said, and only walk/trots him and did a drill team demo once.  She said he’s big, pushy, and needs an experienced handler/rider.  To me it sounds like she’s outmatched by the horse, and it also sounds like the horse is way way way greener than I really want.

Still, I can’t help but think of Lickety.  He was a belgian x QH cross and as rank and pushy as they could come.  But he had good bones deep down in him, and all it took was some consistency to bring them out.  I know he had training on him from his past, and it went to waste while he sat in a pasture for 4 or 5 years and did nothing.  This big draft sounds like it’s never had any training.

I actually think I looked at this same horse back in 2005 when I was looking for a horse after moving to Illinois.  This horse is the right age, color, gender, breed, and in the same general location to very well may be the same horse I rode back then.  I didn’t like the horse at the time.  He was beautiful and sweet, but totally green. So green he didn’t even understand that he had to listen to any cues.  He was just a husband’s trail horse and was used to following along with the horse in front of him and not really having to do much of anything.

If it is the same horse, sounds like that’s all he’s ever been doing for 9 years.  The owner said “he’s not really a riding horse. This breed is more meant to be driven.”  What the heck does that mean? Sorry? I’ve seen people show 17 hand PERCHERONS in dressage.  And you’re telling me that your little 16.1 horse isn’t a riding horse??  Wow.  Anyway, it could be some fun to go look at, I’ll see.  It’s only about 20 minutes from me, so it’s not the end of the world.  But the horse has not been ridden in a YEAR, so I’m not getting on it.

I would not be opposed to maybe leasing it, training it, and putting the lease money towards buying it, if the owner would work out something like that – assuming I even like the horse at all.  That would be hard to tell without riding him but like I said, I’m not getting on a green untrained horse that hasn’t been ridden in a year. I’m not THAT dumb.

So we’ll see.  In the mean time, I finally get to go riding this week, it’s been 2 weeks and I really miss it. Plus I get to ride my favorite horse tonight! Woo hooo!  I always look forward to that.  Maybe I’ll talk with the trainer a little more about getting a horse later this year.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Illinois, Jumpers, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

