Feb 15th, let the diet begin

No, not because I had so many Valentine’s day treats, but because in general  I am overweight.  I am classified as obese on the BMI chart and I really need to do something about it.  I used to always think I was fat, maybe it was because people used to tell me I was, or because my Dad would do the Little Miss Sunshine on me, now it’s because everytime my husband catches me eating anything he doesn’t approve of, he feels the need to tell me I shouldn’t “graze” as he calls it.

Way back when, I used to be  around 128#.  Looking back now at pictures, gawd do I want that body back.

I don’t attribute the fact that this morning I weighed 182 because of what I eat. Maybe HOW I eat, but not what. I have small breakfasts, and very large, late evening dinners. I do eat a lot of junk food and my exercise/activity level has gone from tons for many hours every day to none, zip, zero zilch. 

I love my desk job. I love the regular hours. So much better than working with the horse vets, all the heavy lifting and jogging horses and working from 7 in the morning until who knows at night and barely eating in between.  But that lifestyle did keep one thin, that’s for sure.

Still, I do not feel the weight gain is MAINLY due to what (or how) I eat… It’s because of all the prednisone.  Way back in 2003, I got diagnosed with plantar fasciitis, probably from all the jogging.   From there on out, I received treatments nearly non stop for 5 years for a condition that worsened, involved surgery, and involved me not being able to walk normall for more than a full year.  This foot problem pushed me over the edge with leaving the veterinary world behind ~ if I couldn’t walk, I couldn’t work, and the hours were killing me anyway. 

But for years and years I was treated almost constantly with cortisone injections and methylpredinosolone dose packs. The “cure” for Plantar Fasciitis.  Yeah, that really cured me (NOT!).  And all that stuff does is pack on the weight. They don’t tell you about *THAT* side effect – about how prednisone screws up your body’s ability to metabolize foods and makes you gain weight.  I attribute a large majority of my 50 pounds of weight gain to that drug, and the diminished to completely non existant activity, and my love of popcorn, chips, and chocolate of course 🙂

My husband is no picture of health and perfection, though.  At 300 + pounds, he could stand to lose an entire “me”.  But, due to his problems with cancer, 2 major surgeries, and radiation treatment that encompassed the last 6 months of 2009, and continue straight on into 2010, he’s appetite is gone, along with his sense of smell thanks to a brain surgery that involved removing the nerves that control smell.  Your sense of smell stimulates you to want to eat.  No smell equals no desire to eat.  He’s lost about 20 pounds now, and is down to 312.  That’s the lowest he’s been in years, and since he’s dropped this weight, now he’s being even more critical of me and what and when I eat.

He IS right of course, and my weight has more ups and down than a roller coaster.  Unfortunately it has more ups than downs.  Last year I dieted and got myself down to around 166, and then the diet stopped and no matter how hard I tried (from more strict diets to more laps around the swimming pool), I could not continue losing.  Now I’m up nearly 20 pounds, and I do not like how I look. I don’t hate it, but I sure would like to be the 28″ waist I had when I was 21/22 and weighed 135.  I stayed at 135 pretty much from 18 until I was about 23 and then started creeping up and up and up and up.

I can generally drop 10 pounds in a week if I just concentrate on correcting myself when I go for the junk food, problem is, I eat one cadbury cream egg and gain back 5 pounds!  But I’m going to do my best, and hope to see a lower on the scale next week.

Have any diet advice?  Success stories? Not so successful stories?  Any advice for my hubby on losing weight? He really needs to lose about 100 more pounds. 

Thanks! And visit my other sites (listed in the blog roll on the right)

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Illinois, Jumpers, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feb 15th, let the diet begin

  1. Ez says:

    Don’t give up. I am dealing with plantar fasciitis for more than a year now and I understood that treatment efficiency is very individual. If something works for one it may not work for the other. There are many treatment techniques that you can try. Did you try Taping? I have found it very useful. There are a few Taping techniques you can find in YouTube – just type “Plantar Fasciitis Taping” in YouTube search. Personally I found a very informative website in:
    http://www.plantar-fasciitis-elrofeet.com
    Take care & Good luck

    • kshai1715 says:

      Thankfully my PF is finally subsided, after a 6 year struggle, the one thing that helped the most was swimming. Non impact, tendon working/muscle strengthening exercise. Believe me, I had done EVERYTHING else in treating this painful, crippling condition. When I was first diagnosed, I was taped, and had 2 different types of shoe inserts made, from there it went on to the night splint, tens unit, physical therapy, always wearing shoes, then finally up into more aggressive treatments – shockwave therapy and finally surgery. The surgery made everything worse and I was unable to walk for about 10 months. I was crippled. Handicapped and not even 30 yet. After that I started swimming – to try to lose weight and I didn’t even think of how it would help my foot, but after 2 weeks in the pool, I could walk for the first time in the better part of a year. I’m doing great now, and my foot rarely bothers me, only if I spend the whole day walking. I’m hoping to get back to jogging and do a 5k walk/run this year! (we’ll see)

Leave a Reply

