Thinking towards the future

Ironically, after all that fuss over those Avatar models, 2 out of the 3 my husband made did sell on eBay and he decided to keep the 3rd one for himself.  So all that griping that my photos weren’t good enough, they still sold.  The one guy contact my husband after the auction because he lived in another country and my husband had marked on the auction no out of country shipping.  I told my husband it was dumb to block out most of the world because you think it’s harder to ship to another country.  It’s really not. Bring package to post office, fill out tiny little customs form, ship. Wow. Hard.

Anyway on to other topics, I did enter the Equine Ideal photo contest.  You can visit my photography site (here) to see the pictures I chose to enter. I’d love to hear thoughts on all of that.

I am trying today to take pictures of the cats, and I think I will end up at the barn too, maybe a bit later in the day, more towards sun set, as I couldn’t get myself moving early enough for sun rise.

No riding lesson for me this week, my trainer’s at a show, so I will look to ride next week.  I am still hopeful to save up to buy a horse, but I’ve got to say, with the little amount that I can struggle to save away each month, it’s not adding up very fast.  I’ve been saving since January and barely have anything put away, I think it’s like $300 or something.  So, at that rate, between needing money for a horse, a pre purchase, and at least a month or two board at my trainer’s barn (which is nearly $600 a month), it may take me a lot longer than originally thought. I figured I’d be ready to buy a horse by Nov/Dec this year, but at approximately $200 a month savings, that would give me only$2100 give or take.  Minus $1200 in board, and around $500 for a prepurchase exam, the horse will just about have to be free.  LOL.

I really miss living in PA.  Good board was cheaper, good training was cheaper, good horses were cheaper, and the horse shows were small, fun, competitive, and inexpensive.  I didn’t have the problems back then that I have now, both financially and riding-wise.

I think I spend too much time thinking about what was and pining for it all back instead of dealing with what is and moving on from there.  I think I need to adopt a new mentality about this sort of thing. Not just horses, either, but everything in life.  Life changes and continues forward, and longing for the past, I’m finding isn’t doing any good.

Well, off to continue the day.  Have a good one and visit my other sites!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Illinois, Jumpers, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

