Blizzards, Bombs and Earthquakes!

Well, I know it might sound the tag line to a really cheesey made for TV movie, but that’s what has been happening over the last 18 hours or so in my neck of the woods.

I live in a decent little town. It’s got a population of about 6,000. Not huge at all, and depsite the relatively low income and super high housing costs of the area and that main street has 6 bars in a 3 block stretch, it’s not a bad little town and I rather like it here. 

So yesterday, I got of work a little early. The blizzard like conditions that dumped a total of about 14″ of snow on us really kept people off the roads, and kept them from coming into the retail place where I work.  But, however, that did not stop one freakjob from going into my bank with what he said was a bomb. 

I had to go to the bank and post office yesterday, which are right across the street from each other, and lo and behold, I could not get anywhere near there. I had no idea what was going on, only that police and men in FBI vests had blocked off and shut down power to about 6 square blocks of the town.  They were diverting us away from the bank/post office/grocery store, and I couldn’t help but notice that only was there no power, but there were also no cars besides police – and no people.

My husband and I immediately started guessing.  Fire? No flames could be seen.  Gas leak? Maybe. Then my husband said BOMB THREAT.  Turns out, he was right.  Some idiot went into the bank with a package he said was a bomb and instructions for the teller on what money to get him.  He walked out of the bank without any money, and no explosives were found. 

What a screwed up freak job thing to do. In this town? How can people be so mad?  It’s snowing like crazy out and most people are panicked about the threat of more snow coming and this moron twisted psycho person goes into the bank with a fake bomb.

What  if that bomb had been real. What if it went off? What if people died?  What if I got out of work a little earlier and was *in* the bank.  I guess it’s pointless to think about, really, because it didn’t happen, but something like that does make you think.  It really can happen to anybody.  This is not a high crime area – sure we have the occasional drunken dispute, especially in the home next door to me.  But for the most part, I never hear of robberies in the immediate area, certainly no bombings.  If I was in the bank when that went off, I probably would have died, and I would have accomplished absolutely nothing in my life.  Not a damn thing. 

Ugh.

Besides the not-bombing, there was an earthquake this morning, too.  Unreal.  So yes, it truly was bombs, blizzards and earthquakes. Around 4 am or so I woke up, the dog woke up and my husband woke up to the sound of what we though was a very very large snow plow dragging by our home.  Where we live, the houses are very close together, the streets are narrow, and sounds do tend to see to echo. Someone down the block likes to play their music very loud and the bass will shake our walls from time to time. 

So, my husband and I thought this was a snow plow, albeit the largest one in the world.  There was a very very loud rumbling and a definite perceiveable vibrating.  The walls weren’t shaking and the bed didn’t move, but we were about 25 miles from the epicenter.  The sound was loud enoug to wake us all up and get the dog barking, but not alarming enough to make  us get out of bed.  We just rolled back over and went to sleep.

I couldn’t believe it when I got up a few hours later and read that it was an earthquake!  Someone I work with, who lives much closer to the epicenter said her bed was moving and it was very very very loud.

Wild.  Not the first earthquake I’ve been in, either.  The other one I felt was a lot worse, and actually shook pictures off walls and plates off their displays.  That was in Georgia in 2003, and I guess it was their first known quake.  It was like a 6.3 or something.  This on here this morning was either a  4.6 or 5.3, reports are varied.

Oh, and on top of everything, I skipped a riding lesson too yesterday! The roads were just too bad around 4 to try to drive 1/2 hour to the barn. And with the bombing and all, I wouldn’t have been able to get to where I needed to be anyway.

So, that’s a bummer.  I am going to have to cut back on my $45 lessons every week if I plan to save for a horse.  For now, it’s going to be every other week, and maybe in the summer depending on schedules, I might not ride at all.  At that rate, I should have enough money saved up to buy a decent enough horse (for me) by October. Otherwise, it will be more like December or January 2011.  Well, I guess I haven’t ridden a horse steadily since 2006, so what’s one more year?  At least I have a goal now.

Someone asked me if I will buy a hunter/jumper or dressage horse. Definitely hunter, for sure. No more dressage horses, dressage training, and foo barring horses for me.  I might ride my hunter in some small dressage schooling shows, but I’m not going to push to be a dressage rider. 

I’m hoping to get a draft cross. I’ve owned one before, ridden several, and really really like them.  Ideally, a percheron x paint  would be super!  We’ll see what I end up though. I think I will be staying away from thoroughbreds, though, for sure.  I never had much luck showing thorougbreds.  I guess if it’s a really really nice one, I’ll consider it.  I wouldn’t mind a draft x Tb cross, either.

So, anyone have a nice draft cross gelding for sale in about 10-12 months 🙂 LOL.

Have a great day! Don’t forget to check out my other websites in the blogroll!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Illinois, Jumpers, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

