I’ve decided to buy another horse

I barely ride at all anymore and no matter what else has, will, or does transpire in my life, the biggest loss I’ve ever felt, the most frustrating experience I live, the largest hole in my heart comes from not riding daily (or several times a week anymore).  I spend my time watching my husband’s ponies stand around, I watch other people ride, and I go take my weekly lesson and spend hundreds a month to ride someone else’s horse.  There is very little satisfaction in that.  I do believe that after a certain point, you really need your own horse to advance and continue to grow as a rider. For me, I took lessons for 6 years, then bought my first horse and for 10 or 11 years, I have always owned a horse.  (Well, OK, so I wasn’t actually riding my own horses for about 2 years), and now I don’t own a horse to not ride.. er… I mean to ride.

So, despite my husband’s objections, I’ve decided to own another one.  Getting married has taken a huge toll on my riding. I have to split my time between my husband and home and the barn and riding.  In the last 6 years since I’ve been married, I went from riding 2-3 horses DAILY to riding 1 horse a few times a week, to riding every couple weeks, to not even owning a horse to ride.  While I have to support my husband’s 2 ponies and ensure that he has his cats and his dog and everything that fills his momentary infatuation, and all the junk that he likes to buy and never use (MP3 players, IPODS, toys, radio controlled vehicles, an endless collection of spur of the moment purchases that lose interest just as quickly as it started…), I get nothing.  I don’t realy ask for much in life, I just want a clean house, clean cat litter boxes, and a little respect.  I really don’t often get any of those, so yeah, I don’t care if my husband objects to me having another horse.

Now, at this very second of life, I have no money, so this means saving and saving and saving – I’ll probably cut back on my weekly lessons a little and go to twice a month instead of 4 times a month and that will help me save twice as much twice as fast.  If I don’t lesson at all, I’ll be able to save three times as much three times as quickly, so we’ll see.  Maybe in the summer when the barn is busy showing ever other week, and I’m busy making my husband show his pony once a month or so, maybe I will stop riding during the summer and save a little faster.

In the mean time, I guess I should go clean the house.

Don’t forget to check out my other websites listed on the right in the blogroll!!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Illinois, Jumpers, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

