2010: The year We Finish (long overdue) Projects

WILL IT EVER STOP SNOWING?  I guess not, at least for a while possibly in thanks to Mr. Puxatawny Phil.  So, whilst Chicago enjoyeth much cold and snow and the equestrian in us eagerly awaits spring and horse show season, or at least being able to ride outdoors… or at least being able to go to the barn and not freeze while  getting your pasture kept horse out of the pasture and wondering how the heck THEY put up with 24 hours a day…. winter is a great time for projects.  And I have many, many, many many many projects that really need to get done.

I’ve decided that 2010 is the project year.  And I’ve decided that my husband is going to help me do projects.  He and I both have a habit of starting something and putting it down and not coming back to it for years – decades even. 

 Per example:  On your right, in the blog roll, you will see a list for “Predator Fan Ficton”.  On that web site is a novel I wrote.  It’s just over 350 pages when it’s printed on 8×10 paper. I LOVE Predator, I love science fiction, but Predator has really been a driving force for me since the early 90’s – since even before I took my first riding lesson.  So WAY back in 1998 or 1999 or so I started writing what I was sure was going to be a great novel… Well, I personally love it, but I’m sort of partial.  Anyway, I walked away from it for about 6 years and finally got finished with it in 2007.

Another example is a tiger cross stitch that’s been sitting without a head for probably 5 years. I’ll get to that this year too.

Also on the agenda- clean out our storage shed and have a yard sale (or ebay sale as it may be).

But in the long list of projects that really need to get accomplished in 2010 (one very well may be saving up for horse #11)… the currently under construction project (literally) is the doll house.

My doll house was built for me when I was born by my Grandfather. It is 4 feet long, 2 feet tall and 2 feet wide, and it really is quite beautiful.  But it’s old, a little outdated, and mostly fallen into disarry after years of being stored, shuffled about, and slightly abused by a girl who didn’t appreciate how lovely a thing it was until she was much much older.

So, 6 years ago reconstruction began.. and as my husband would say, there’s been permit issues and union problems with the work force.. but now, everything has been put back into motion and the dollhouse in undergoing a massive overhaul.  We’ve ripped out walls, every crown moulding and base board trim, took out windows and doors, and that was just a start. 

Now we’ve gotten to some installation. New floors, a new front door, interior doors, and there’s so much more.  The walls should be going back in this weekend, hopefully.  The two things I’m most looking forward to are doing the interior lighting, which is something the dollhouse never had – lights.  I can’t wait to run the tape wire and start to plan the positions of all the lights in the home.  I’m also very much looking forward to hanging wall paper  – because by the time we get to that, it means work is basically done !

Of course I’m looking forward to seeing it completed and all lit up, but for now, we will plug away with the skin and bones work that needs to be done. 

Check out my photography blog (also listed in the blogroll) to see pictures!

Thanks for reading!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Dressage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

