To not ride dressage

Well, after over2 weeks of thinking it over, after only 1 ride instead of the 6 I was supposed to have, after paying for 6 rides and not using them, I’ve decided to call it quits on the shareboard horse, and probably on Dressage all together.  While I still feel I am a capable rider, I used to ride some highly collected very upper level movmenets, like when I had my second horse Lickety Split doing them (there’s that USED TO phrase again)… I just think at this spot in my life, riding Dressage is financially and practically impossible.

In this area of Chicagoland, boarding barns are around $550 a month for a good barn, trainers are around $50-$75 for an hour lesson, one charges $90, she’s a world renowned Grand Prix rider.  Most of those trainers really don’t want you if you don’t have a horse to ride, or aren’t planning on purchasing one.  I took a few lessons with a medalist GP Dressage trainer, who on the very first day tried to sell me the sale horse I was riding, for $225,000.  Seriously, if you saw me, I would not look like someone who could afford that type of horse.  Board at that barn was $775.

When  I try to find places a little cheaper, I either know more than the instructor, or get put on some sassy old school apaloosa that  I end up having to train for my 45 minute ride.  My hunter lessons are affordable, at least once a week, anyway, but leasing a horse or showing are not.  Owning my own horse is out of the question.  I’m spending too much supporting my husband’s two ponies that I can’t save up to put together enough to buy a kill horse at an auction, let alone anything of some decent quality.

So, I’ll just stick with my hunter lessons once a week and hopefully I can get my hubby to come out and do some pictures, that would be nice.  He doesn’t take the worlds best photographs, but if I set up the camera for him, he’ll at least snap away. 1 or 2 usually come out OK.  Like this one last year…

So, 2010 is looking bleak as far as horses for me goes.  I’m hoping to get my husband into the showring with his incredible hackney driving pony, but for me at least, looks like 2006 will still continue to be the last time I showed.

Oh well.  The horse I was leasing was very nice, but really, It was just a situation that was not going to work out.  He didn’t seem to be tolerating the extra work brought on by an extra rider twice a week, I was not going to be allowed to canter him for weeks and weeks, so I was paying money for some one else’s horse that I couldn’t use to the level I was hoping to use him for.  He was a very sweet horse, though, and I loved riding him, it was really nice to get some riding time in on a horse with some higher schooled Dressage training in him than just the very basics.

I’ll miss him, but I look forward to my hunter lesson this weekend.  Don’t forget to visit my photography blog and my YouTube channel and Predator fanfiction site, all listed on the blogroll on the right!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Illinois, Jumpers, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

