To ride dressage or not to ride dressage?

To lease this horse or not lease this horse?  To quit stressing or not quit stressing.  LOL.  Well, I guess I’m not really stressing, but I am thinking about this all the time. I didn’t get to ride again this weekend, actually I chose not to ride.  I was allowed to go ride the lease horse so long as I walked him a long rein and trotted easily for no more than 5 minutes total.

My trainer told me, think about all the money you’ve spent on your own horses that you can’t ride.  Stick with Frankie and wokr through this little soreness and you can move on from there.

Well, I am thinking about all the thousands of dollars I’ve spent on purchasing, boarding, lessons, and vets over 4 years on horses that I couldn’t ride that I owned.  Leasing is by far worlds cheaper, but it’s  still a struggle financially from someone who makes $300 a week to pay for a lease and weekly lessons and still hope to save money up to buy show clothes and pay entry fees.

The horse is not as sore as I think the trainer and owner are making it out to be. He is girthy, and maybe his stifles do hurt, but I know that’s not because of the work I’m doing with him.  He was girthy long before I knew him, I’ve been told that by the owner and trainer.  His stifles, ok, maybe they might be sore because isn’t holding up to being ridden 4-5 days a week.  But when those rides include mostly just walk trot (I do canter, but it’s not like I canter for 20 minutes non stop and work on pirouettes or small circles),  I just don’t see how I’m going to get to show at all.

My alternate to leasing this dressage horse would be to stick with my hunter lessons, which I enjoy thoroughly and always have.  But, if I do that, showing is absolutely out.  Ironically, I can’t even show the pony that I own. Luke. Luke is my husband’s hackney and since it’s his (we bought him together for a driving pony for my husband), my husband says I’m not allowed to show him.  He’s such a selfless and fair and kind person… that’s a whole nother story.  Anyway, showing hunters is out out out due only to costs.  The lesson horse I ride most of the time rocks, and he’s just awesome.  I do great on him and I have FUN riding.  But with required hauling fees, required daily training fees for the show, required mane braiding fees,  required show fees and stall fees… oh and required daily leasing fees for use of a school horse at shows, $700 for one weekend to may or may not get a ribbon of any colour is just not an option for me.  It’s too much money.  That’s what I get for riding at an A circuit barn, I guess.  They only haul to 2-3 day shows and you’re required to keep the horse there for all days, even if you’re not showing, and still have to pay non-showing daily trainer fees.  I understand the barn’s policies, and while I may or may not agree with them, it’s their rules.  It’s just too cost prohibitive.

Well, anyway, while I still decide what to do with the thoroughbred I’m leasing, on a lighter note, I have many videos up now on YouTube, mostly all about horses, but one is about our recent trip to House On The Rock.  Visit my you tube channel.  http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai

You can also visit my photography site, and my Predator fan fiction site by clicking on the links to the right in the blogroll.  Thanks for looking!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Buckskin, Dressage, Driving, Hackney, horse, Horses, hunter/jumper, Hunters, Illinois, Jumpers, Photography, Riding, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

