Luke the Hyper

 

The other day I put the boys out in a different paddock for some play time, and to get grass and dry(ish) ground under their hooves.  They were in this lot a few days prior and both of them were NUTS!  Did I have the camera?  nooooooOoOOOOo…. of course not.  lol.

So, camera in hand, ready to photograph the antics, I put them out there again, and Chewbacca of course dropped and rolled.

ChewieNov2013a

…. I expected him to do his usual pop up and leap into the air and run off like a loon.

But this is what he thought of THAT idea…..ChewieNov2013c

However, what came next was pretty funny.

Luke of course can almost always be counted on for a good time, ha!  He has endless bounds of energy, and was completely hyper running around the lot with his usual endless amounts of sheer Hackney joy and love of life.

He stopped near Chewbacca for a moment and I got a photo that reminds me of something….

ChewieNov2013d

Anytime we go to shows together, bystanders nearly always come over to us and ask to pet the “baby horse”.  Seeing them glued at the hip like this makes it no wonder people think Luke is Chewbacca’s baby.  I always find it funny when I explain to them that not only is Luke not Chewie’s baby, but Luke is actually older than Chewbacca by 2 years.

Most people are really shocked by this.  I usually promptly explain as well that they are both boys missing their “boy parts”.

Okay, “mother and child” cuteness ends there…..

…. or does it?

Because just like a playful foal, Luke decides Chewbacca is too boring just standing around and in the next frame, he tries to get Chewie to go run and play…

LukeNov2013d… yes, I do think Luke’s knees are pressing into Chewbacca’s side.  Chewie, unimpressed walks away, and Luke tries again….

LukeNov2013e

Luke tries to run Chewbacca down as he comes towards me with a “get me away from this nut job” look on his face.

LukeNov2013h

The look on Chewie’s face in this photo is priceless!  It’s a cross between “knock it off” and “don’t run into me”.

Luke I think caught the evil eye, too, and stopped and popped up off the ground.

LukeNov2013gLukeNov2013f

Haha… Poor Luke.  He tried so hard to get his pal to play with him, but in the end, Luke had to go off and suffer on his own…..

LukeNov2013e_1

…. he bounded away in his usual calm and easy going manner, uh, wait, nevermind.  No he didn’t.  He ran off and did several more laps around the paddock with his best Arab impersonation ever, trying so hard to get someone to play with him.

Ultimately, he had a good roll, and another, and another, and a nice shake off.

LukeNov2013a

Then he looks at me like “now what?!  Still have energy to burn…”

LukeNov2013b

So I took him for a little drive and did some obstacles.  At least *I* played with him!

DixieNov2013a

The minis looked on at all this with content from the next paddock over.  Way too much activity for them, they said.

Have a good day!

 

About kshai1715

I am a horse lover, photography enthusiast, movie lover, video gamer, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek. Don't have any kids, but my zoo of animals keeps me and my husband quite busy enough! In October 2011, I was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, sarcoma. It accounts for less than 1% of all new cancer diagnoses each year. My husband, in 2009, was also diagnosed with the same kind of cancer! What are the odds?! We have both had surgery and cancer treatments, and are looking forward to a long cancer-free life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and more) as much as I like writing about them. Visit my photography blog at http://www.willowtreephotos.webs.com and my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Hackney, horse, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

